April 26, 2006

JDEE installation guide bit me again

Posted in Emacs at 16:46 by theBlackDragon

When I last tried to get the JDEE running on Windows with GNU Emacs 22 I was stung by the old inaccuracy in the installaiton guide concerning the installation of the cedet.

The guide suggests you add the different needed parts of the cedet separately by doing this:

(add-to-list 'load-path (expand-file-name "~/emacs/site/jde/lisp"))
(add-to-list 'load-path (expand-file-name "~/emacs/site/cedet/common"))
(load-file (expand-file-name "~/emacs/site/cedet/common/cedet.el"))
(add-to-list 'load-path (expand-file-name "~/emacs/site/elib"))

This kept on giving me errors and after trying various versions of the cedet libraries it dawned on me that it might just be possible to load the cedet as a whole, which it was. I did it like this:

(add-to-list 'load-path (expand-file-name "C:/elisp/cedet-1.0pre3/common"))
(require 'cedet)

It now works like a charm and I thought I might as well share it, maybe you'll get hit by the same problem one day (or I'll forget about it again 😉 ).

For completeness sake, this is the full code in my .emacs for loading the JDE on Windows (it's the same for other OSs, just substitute the correct paths):

;;; JDEE
(add-to-list 'load-path (expand-file-name "C:/elisp/elib-1.0/"))
(add-to-list 'load-path (expand-file-name "C:/elisp/cedet-1.0pre3/common"))
(add-to-list 'load-path (expand-file-name "C:/elisp/jde-2.3.5.1/lisp/"))
(require 'cedet)

;; (require 'jde)
(setq defer-loading-jde t)

(if defer-loading-jde
    (progn
      (autoload 'jde-mode "jde" "JDE mode." t)
      (setq auto-mode-alist
        (append
         '((".java'" . jde-mode))
         auto-mode-alist)))

(require 'jde))
1 Comment »

  1. faus said,

    Excellent!
    Did you ever send this report into the JDEE maillist because this is something that definitely needs to be updated in the user’s guide! I just upgraded from 21.3 to 22.1 and, of course, it wasn’t working. Had I not found your blog, I would have really been getting ticked off!


Leave a Reply

